tayapaul.blogg.se

Spring cleaning pictures
Spring cleaning pictures









spring cleaning pictures

Inevitably, I think about how I've changed. During spring cleaning, while sifting through old stuff to throw out or give away, I often catch sight of a pile and sift through the pictures real quick, thinking back to the times in (and out of) focus. I see them when cleaning out a room or sorting through the house. Pre-21st century photographs are invaluable.įunny enough, many of my own old photographs are strewn carelessly in various files or keepsake baskets or old shoeboxes. Sure, the picture can be scanned into a computer, but that one-time historical shot and yellowing photographic gloss cannot be truly replicated like a digital copy. But the touch of the photograph instead of a swipe on a screen gives nostalgia an old picture has additional sentimental worth since, in most cases, it cannot be reprinted.

spring cleaning pictures

In other ways, that's woefully unfortunate, since there's something indescribably real about holding a photograph on printed paper instead of a smart device. In some ways, that's just fine, because we can hold on to many, many more photos on a hard drive or a web cloud. With the internet age, actual hard copies of pictures may be unheard of in another 100 years' time. Paper photographs will probably become a thing of the past. No smart device can draw a red-blooded kid away from a good family story. Sometimes, the purpose is in the actual storytelling experience. Not every story ends happily ever after, either. It's the " I remember when." and " That was the time." that garner the most attention. Impromptu reminiscence can bring everyone into the room. Knowingly or not, this impact exists, yet the people involved are held only in stories and photographs- the laughter, the tears, and the memories, both good and bad, have lived on through family anecdotes.Ī photograph can bring all of this to the forefront of the memory stories of the past beg to be shared. Great aunts, great uncles, family friends, and particularly grandparents and great-grandparents who indirectly provided education and nurturing that has filtered down the family line to me. While these don't serve as mementos from my upbringing, they provide a look at individuals who impacted me in ways not so immediately accessible. Many photos include myself and my immediate family, of course, but some are pictures of people I never met. My parents have amassed an outstanding collection of photographs. One of the most meaningful collections I hope to keep around is not even mine, in actuality. These keepsakes are great mementos of the times that shaped my life and have made me me. More so than the items themselves, it was the memories that mattered. But other items, like ticket stubs for sporting events and music concerts I attended, were held onto because of the experience attached. Some of these items didn't have as much sentimental value, and therefore went by the wayside.

spring cleaning pictures

Action figures became baseball cards became records became. But I do hold on to items that have sentimental value, or at one time did. Not old clothing, not outdated gadgets, and definitely not Halloween candy. I think: What I can see is what I am not." - Aleksandar Hemon If you have some white vinegar, baking soda, and lots of surfaces that need some TLC, then this list of quick and easy cleaning tips was made for you."When I look at my old pictures, all I can see is what I used to be but am no longer. Best of all, cleaning doesn't have to involve expensive tools and harmful chemicals, either. Thankfully, there are ways to make the dirty work of spring cleaning feel manageable - and there are also plenty of quick cleaning hacks that can help you get the job done. If the idea of tackling every dust bunny and stubborn stain in sight feels overwhelming - or you just don't know where to get started - then learning a few easy cleaning tips can help you manage your stress levels (and hopefully get your house squeaky clean in no time).įrom the kitchen to the bathroom to the bedroom, the list of items that need scrubbing in your household can seem endless. However, you'll have to put in a little elbow grease if you really want your house to shine. It always feels good to tidy up with a few simple tasks, like making your bed, loading the dishwasher, or putting away your kids' toys at the end of another long day.











Spring cleaning pictures